A minha reserva

OUR HISTORY

The Hood Arms

The Hood Arms

The Hood Arms has a long, rich history with an Inn being recorded on the site as far back as 1689 – the year that William and Mary replaced James II as co-monarchs of England.

The inn was originally called the Chough & Anchor but by 1832 it had been renamed The Hood Arms, although the original pub sign was retained and is still used to this day, the chough and anchor being the crest of the local landowners, the Acland-Hood family of St Audries. By the end of the 1830’s the pub was flourishing and stables were added in 1839 to attract the growing coaching trade travelling along the Nether Stowey to Minehead turnpike.

The classic layout of the Hood Arms remains largely unchanged since 1736 and its easy to relax by the open fire with a pint of Cider or Real Ale and imagine those times, when Kilve was a centre for smuggling along the Bristol Channel coast – with Brandy and illicit goods stored the Chantry situated behind the Hood Arms in Sea Lane; or you might have shared a tall tale with Coleridge or Wordsworth as they enjoyed a hearty meal in the pub.

 
Vá até o topo

Este site é editado por The Hood Arms, Kilve, Bridgwater, Somerset, TA5 1EA, Reino Unido. Número de identificação da empresa: 264616690. Utilizamos cookies para garantir que você tenha a melhor experiência e que todos os dados pessoais compartilhados durante sua visita sejam protegidos por nossa política de privacidade

Nosso site foi criado e é hospedado por eviivo Limited, 154 Pentonville Road, Londres, N1 9JE, Reino Unido. Cadastro: 05002392 Número de identificação da empresa: 877374571 . A eviivo não se responsabiliza pelo conteúdo exibido neste site, e operam o site em nosso nome sob a seguinte política de privacidade

Ao utilizar este site, você concorda com o uso de cookies e os termos de nossa política de privacidade


Mais Informações